Skip to content

Geography Club

May 13, 2017

GC16-year old Russell is going on dates with girls while nurturing a secret relationship with star quarterback Kevin, who will do anything to prevent his teammates from finding out. Min and Terese tell everyone that they’re just best friends. And then there’s Ike, who can’t figure out who he is or who he wants to be. Finding the truth too hard to hide, they decide to form a Geography Club, thinking nobody else would want to join. However, their secrets may soon be discovered and they could have to face the choice of revealing who they really are.

 

The film explores the teen’s hopes, values and dreams while on this journey of going public and offering the whole school support.

It’s interesting to note that the conflict here comes mostly from within, rather than from school bullies or inflexible parents, as each of the characters must decide whether to go public with his or her sexual orientation.

 

Brian Bund: I don’t really care about geography. I already have an A in Geography, so… I thought about joining this club for a while just to make friends, but… I was scared. I know people laugh at me. I’m not stupid. The thing is… I don’t wanna go home after school. I’m scared of it, actually, so I play cello. I play it when I’m nervous. It’s what I do at night – homework and cello. When I’m nervous and I don’t have my cello, my fingers twitch. Well, I just didn’t wanna go home after school; so, I’m not gonna force you to be my friend, though, so… Don’t worry about your secret. I’m not gonna tell anybody.

 

Brian Bund: Just because people don’t understand me, doesn’t mean I don’t understand them.

 

Russell: Either we’re in a relationship or we’re not.

Kevin: Why does it have to be that way?

Russell: It just does.

 

Gunnar: Uh, how am “I” the mom?

Russell: Um… ’cause you have man-boobs, Gunnar. Isn’t that obvious?

 

Kimberly: I really like you, Russell. I-I mean, I only got with Gunnar just so that we could chill.

Russell: This is so messed up.

Return to the home page

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

