Skip to content

Last Chance Harvey

September 17, 2015

LCHHarvey Shine is in London for the weekend for his daughter’s wedding. His work in New York preoccupies him: he writes music for ads, and he knows his boss is pushing him aside for younger talent. With family he’s also on the sidelines – long divorced, his wife remarried, her husband closer to his daughter than he. His path crosses that of Kate Walker, unmarried, her life becoming that of a spinster, set up by friends on blind dates leading nowhere. After Harvey’s no good terrible day, he chats Kate up at a Heathrow bar. She’s not interested. Where can this conversation lead? Back at his daughter’s reception, the step-father rises to give a toast.

Just as life seems to be passing them by, two older people cross paths and they come to realise that this last chance for love is something too good to miss.

Themes: singleness, love, friendship, insecurity, fear, disappointment.

Harvey Shine: I’m gonna dance your socks off.

Kate Walker: I’m not gonna do it, because it’ll hurt! Sometime or other there’ll be, you know “It’s not working.” or “I need my space.” or whatever it is and it will end and it will hurt, and I won’t do it.

Kate Walker: I think I’m more comfortable with being disappointed. I think I’m angry at you for trying to take that away.

 

Kate Walker: You – You just dive in there, don’t you just, whoosh, anywhere, deep end. And I’m not, I’m not a bloody swimming pool Harvey.

To return to the home page, click on the header at the top of this page.

From → Film

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

