Skip to content

Secrets and Lies

September 9, 2015

SALA successful black woman discovers that her birth mother is a lower-class white woman, but the woman denies it. As emotions run high, everyone’s secrets are exposed.

Truth and openness are important because secrets and lies cause damage. But truth can be costly.

When Hortense asks if her father “was a nice man,” Cynthia can’t say – or won’t. What no one breaches, is: Was Hortense the product of rape? Was the 15 year old Cynthia Purley raped by a black man in 1968 in London? And did she then keep the child, only to give it up for adoption? Why doesn’t anyone ask this? Why does Cynthia let Roxanne know who her father is, but not Hortense?

Maurice: Secrets and lies! We’re all in pain! Why can’t we share our pain? I’ve spent my entire life trying to make people happy, and the three people I love the most in the world hate each other’s guts, and I’m in the middle! I can’t take it anymore!

[last lines] Cynthia Purley: This is the life, innit sweethearts?

Cynthia Purley: I wouldn’t know him if he stood up in my soup!

Maurice: She can’t help it; she never had enough love

Cynthia: I can still turn a few heads…

Roxanne: …and a few stomachs!

Maurice: Life isn’t fair then is it. Somebody always draws the short straw.

Cynthia Rose Purley: You gotta laugh, ain’t ya sweetheart? Else you’d cry.

Cynthia Purley: But sweetheart, I can’t be your mother!

Hortense Cumerbatch: Why not?

Cynthia Purley: Well… look at me!

Cynthia Purley: Where’s this food, then? I’m ravishin’.

[Hortense laughs]

Cynthia Purley: What?

[Hortense chuckles]

Cynthia Rose Purley: [to Hortense] You look more like me than m’daughter does!

Monica Purley: Can’t miss what you never had!

Maurice: Can’t you?

Roxanne: Don’t be stupid.

To return to the home page, click on the header at the top of this page.

From → Film

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

