Skip to content

The Trip

September 1, 2015

TTWhen 19-year-old gay-rights activist Tommy and 24-year-old Alan first meet in 1973, they find themselves on the opposite sides of the political coin. Despite their many differences, they form a loving long-term relationship. In 1977, during Anita Bryant’s crusade, an anti-gay book Alan wrote years before gets published without his consent. The book destroys Tommy’s credibility as a well-known activist, resulting in Tommy and Alan’s break-up. Seven years later, Alan is given a second chance, a reunion with Tommy and the opportunity to set things right

Gives an opportunity for many political and social commentaries having to do with the times, including Anita Bryant and Ronald Reagan, and gay rights.

The bookstore in the very last scene where Alan is signing his book for people is a real life Christian bookstore.

TT2Beverly: So, Alan tells me you’re a homosexual.
Tommy Ballenger: Only because there was nothing good on television.
Beverly: Well, I just find it so intriguing.
Tommy Ballenger: Not always, Liberace for example.
Beverly: Liberace is a homosexual?
Tommy Ballenger: Sadly, yes.

Peter Baxter: I respect all of Alan’s interests, I just don’t like having them shoved down my throat.

Tommy Ballenger: So what made you want to become a writer?
Alan Oakley: It’s always been my dream since a child. When did you first realize you were gay?
Tommy Ballenger: It’s always been my dream since a child.

Mary Oakley: That’s the first time I’ve heard you complain about my son shoving anything down your throat.
Peter Baxter: I’m not quite sure how to take that.
Mary Oakley: Said the altar boy to the bishop.

Tommy Ballenger: [to a reporter] I’d like to make a deal with the Anita Bryant people. You stop telling lies about us and we’ll stop telling the truth about you.

Tommy Ballenger: What do you want?
Alan Oakley: I want to say I’m sorry.
Tommy Ballenger: Absolution granted, go with God. We’re done.

“It’s my parents! Quick hide in the closet!”

To return to the home page, click on the header at the top of this page.

From → Film, Sexuality

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

